Sungrow home battery review: prices, specs and downsides
How this site makes money. We don't earn money from any links on this site yet. If that changes, we'll update this notice first. We don't compare every battery, installer or energy plan in the market. How we make money
The answer first: Sungrow sells two home stacks: SBR in 3.2 kWh steps (6.4–25.6 kWh) and SBH in 5 kWh steps (10–40 kWh), both 100% depth of discharge [SB-S137, SB-S138, C]. The SBR listing on the CEC list ends 30 December 2026 [SB-S071, C]. We found one dated price: a 30 kWh package from $13,268.78 after the federal discount, as at 3 Nov 2026, model not stated [SB-S098, C].
On this page: What it is · Prices · Downsides · Who it's not for · Ask your installer
What it is
Modular high-voltage batteries that run with a Sungrow hybrid inverter [SB-S137, E]. SBR: 30 A continuous, IP55 [SB-S137, C]. SBH: 50 A continuous, "max. power exceeding 25 kW", up to 4 units in parallel (160 kWh) [SB-S138, C]. Rated power per SBR size appears only in the older V1.2 datasheet (2021): 5.76 kW (SBR096) to 15.36 kW (SBR256) [SB-S139, C].
| Spec | Sungrow |
|---|---|
| Usable kWh | SBR 6.4–25.6; SBH 10–40 [SB-S137, SB-S138, C] |
| Max size | SBR 25.6 per stack; SBH 160 kWh with 4 in parallel [SB-S137, SB-S138, C] |
| Inverter setup | Sungrow hybrid inverter [SB-S137, E] |
| Backup | MISSING until the SH inverter datasheet is read |
| Warranty | 10 yrs; 70% at 10 yrs; unlimited cycles for self-use/backup, else a cap (SBR096 26.88 … SBR256 71.68; SBH200 56.00 … SBH400 112.00 MWh) [SB-S050, C] |
| CEC listed until | SBR064–256: 30 Dec 2026; SBH100–400: 4 Jan 2027 [SB-S071, C] |
Prices
| Size | Installed price (seller, as at) | Model |
|---|---|---|
| 30 kWh | from $13,268.78 after federal discount; Sunbridge, as at 3 Nov 2026 [SB-S098, C] | Not stated (not an SBR size; possibly SBH, unconfirmed) |
| SBR 9.6–25.6 kWh | No dated price yet | SBR |
| SBH 10–40 kWh | No dated price yet | SBH |
Many installers publish Sungrow prices without an "as at" date or as indicative ranges; we don't show those. Sunbridge's 30 kWh price moved between 30 Oct and 3 Nov 2026 [SB-S098], so recheck it on the day.
What the federal discount is worth. Our arithmetic, not a quote: installs from May to December 2026 earn 6.8 STCs per usable kWh up to 14 kWh, then 60% of that to 28 kWh and 15% to 50 kWh [SB-S036, SB-S001, C]. STCs last traded at $39.65 (30 Oct 2026); installers pass on a bit less [SB-S095, C]. The factor drops to 5.7 for installs from January 2027 [SB-S036, C]. The discount is set by the installation date [SB-S004, C]. It needs a CEC-listed, VPP-capable battery installed with solar by an SAA battery-endorsed installer [SB-S003, C]. The STC price moves, so your installer's figure will differ. Official rules: cer.gov.au and dcceew.gov.au. SBR128 (12.8 kWh): 87 STCs, about $3,450. SBH200 (20 kWh): 119 STCs, about $4,718 [SB-S036, SB-S001, SB-S095, E].
Downsides
- Both CEC listings end within about two months (SBR 30 Dec 2026, SBH 4 Jan 2027) [SB-S071, C]; renewal: MISSING.
- The current SBR datasheet (V5) gives no rated power or round-trip figure [SB-S137, C]; round-trip efficiency MISSING.
- Only one dated price, and its model isn't named [SB-S098].
Who it's not for
Sungrow is not for you if:
- you don't have, and don't want, a Sungrow hybrid inverter [SB-S137, E].
- your install is in 2027 and the listing hasn't been renewed [SB-S071, E].
- you want a published, dated price for a common SBR size before you call anyone.
It suits homes already running a Sungrow hybrid inverter, or anyone wanting small 3.2 kWh steps [SB-S137, C].
Ask your installer
- SBR or SBH, the exact model, and its CEC listing end date [SB-S071].
- What backup the inverter gives, and its cost.
- The STC count and the install date it assumes [SB-S004].
Next step: get quotes
Ask at least two accredited installers for a written quote that shows the model, usable kWh and the certificate count.
Head to head: Sungrow measured against Sigenergy · the Sungrow and Powerwall comparison · Sungrow next to FoxESS.
Rules checked 3 November 2026. Next scheduled check: before 1 January 2027 (STC step-down), and monthly for WA and NSW.